Skip to main content

Our mission is to help the peoples of the world learn how law and religion can balance each other and ultimately stabilize society and politics.
Learn more

Journal of Law and Religion

Published in collaboration partnership with Cambridge University Press, the Journal of Law and Religion publishes cutting-edge research on religion, human rights, and religion freedom; religion-state relations; religion sources and dimensions of public, private, penal, and procedural law; religious legal systems and their place in secular law; theological jurisprudence; political theology; legal and religious ethics; and more.

The JLR provides a distinguished forum for deep dialogue among Buddhist, Confucian, Christian, Hindu, Indigenous, Jewish, Muslim, and other faith traditions about fundamental questions of law, society, and politics.

In the latest issue

  • Editors’ Introduction: Book Review Edition and State of the Field Essays
  • America, Islam, and Constitutionalism: Muslim American Poverty and the Mounting Police State, Khaled A. Beydown
  • Gender, Violence, and Social Justice in Islam: Muslim Feminist Scholars in the Public Eye, Shannon Dunn
  • Individual Conscience and How It Should Be Treated, Kent Greenawalt
  • The Changing Landscape of Law and Religion in Europe: Secularism and Cultural Heritage, Mark Hill
  • What's the Harm in Polygamy? Multicultural Toleration and Women's Experience of Plural Marriage, Lisa Fishbayne Joffe
  • Law, Religion, and Human Rights: Skeptical Responses in the Early Twenty-First Century, David Little
  • New Directions in Natural Law, Vincent Lloyd
  • In Defense of Religious Freedom: New Critics of a Beleagured Human Right, Daniel Philpott and Timothy Samuel Shah

A Highlight from the JLR Archive

Editing Staff


  • Silas W. Allard
  • Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na’im
  • Michael Broyde
  • M. Christian Green
  • Michael J. Perry
  • John Witte, Jr.

Managing Editor

  • Silas W. Allard

Book Reviews Editor

  • M. Christian Green

Associate Book Review Editors

  • Hina Azam
  • Justin J. Latterell 

Chief of Staff

  •  Sai Santosh Kumar Kolluru

Assistant Managing Editors

  •  Sai Santosh Kumar Kolluru (Peer Review)
  •  Tiffany Quynh-Nhi Do (Comments)
  •  Larry Kim (Comments)
  •  Joseph Quattlebaum (Spading)
  •  Allen Kowalcyzk (Spading)
  •  Linh Vu (Book reviews)
  •  Amanda Singh (Special content)

International Advisory Board

Frank S. Alexander
Emory University
Paul Babie
University of Adelaide
Deborah J. Cantrell
University of Colorado
Stephen L. Carter
Yale University
Ana María Celis Brunet
Ponticia Universidad Católica de Chile
Joseph Chan
University of Hong Kong
Paula M. Cooey
Macalester College
Perry Dane
Rutgers University
Donald R. Davis, Jr
University of Texas
Norman Doe
Cardiff University
Thomas Duve
Max Planck Institute for
European Legal History
Anver M. Emon
University of Toronto
Carolyn Evans
University of Melbourne
Rebecca R. French
State University of New York
Edward McGlynn Gaffney, Jr.
Valparaiso University
Richard W. Garnett
University of Notre Dame
Emily Albrink Hartigan
St. Mary’s University
R. H. Helmholz
University of Chicago
Cathleen Kaveny
Boston College
Olga Kazmina
Moscow State University
Michael Kessler
Georgetown University
Mirjam Künkler
Princeton University
Howard Lesnick
University of Pennsylvania
Samuel J. Levine
Touro Law Center
Tim Lindsey
University of Melbourne
David Little
Harvard University
Adrian Loretan
University of Lucerne
Robin W. Lovin
Southern Methodist University
John McGuckin
Columbia University
Werner Menski
SOAS University of London
Nancy Miller-Herron
Tennessee Claims Commission
Ebrahim Moosa
University of Notre Dame
David Novak
University of Toronto
Michiaki Okuyama
Nanzan University
Fernanda Pirie
University of Oxford
Jean Porter
University of Notre Dame
Thomas W. Porter, Jr.
Boston University
Asifa Quraishi-Landes
University of Wisconsin
Gideon Sapir
Bar-Ilan University
Suwanna Satha-Anand
Chulalongkorn University
Prakash Shah
Queen Mary University of London
Steven D. Smith
University of San Diego
Suzanne Last Stone
Yeshiva University
Kyriaki Topidi
University of Lucerne
Darryl M. Trimiew Amelia J. Uelmen
Georgetown University
C. Leon van de Broeke
VU University
Michael Welker
University of Heidelberg
Fenggang Yang
Purdue University